

Annual MMF UK Monetary and Financial Conference

25th September 2015

Bloomberg, City Gate House, 39-45 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1PQ

From 8.00am: Registration and Breakfast

8.35: Welcome Address:

Organisers: Jagjit Chadha (University of Kent).

Hosts: Bloomberg.

8.45: Session 1: The UK Monetary Regime

Chair: Wouter Den Haan (London School of Economics)

Alain Durre and Huw Pill (Goldman Sachs)

"Questions for the UK's Monetary Policy Regime after the Crisis"

Discussants:

Charles Goodhart (London School of Economics),

Sushil Wadhwani (Wadhwani Asset Management LLP)

10.15: Session 2: Keynote Address

Chair: Wendy Carlin (University College London)

Charles Bean (London School of Economics)

11.10-11.30 Coffee/Tea

11.30: Session 3: Macroprudential Instruments.

Chair: David Marsh (Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum)



Charles Nolan (University of Glasgow) and Alfred Duncan (University of Cambridge)

"Macroprudental Policy: Objectives and Challenges"

Discussants:

Douglas Gale (Imperial College London),

Paul Tucker (Harvard Kennedy School)

1-2pm: Lunch

2.00: Session 4: Policy Uncertainty

Chair: Dave Ramsden (HM Treasury).

Nick Bloom (Stanford University)

"The UK and Macroeconomic Uncertainty"

Discussants:

Gareth Ramsay (Bank of England),

Shamik Dhar (Foreign and Commonwealth Office)

3.30-4.00pm Coffee/Tea

4.00pm: Session 5: Panel Discussion

The Housing Market and Macroeconomic Policy

Chair: Angus Armstrong (National Institute of Economic and Social Research)

Stephen Aldridge (Department for Communities and Local Government)

Kate Barker (author of the Housing Supply Review and formerly of the Monetary Policy Committee)

George Buckley (Deutsche Bank)

David Miles (Imperial College, Monetary Policy Committee member 2009-2015)

John Muellbauer (Nuffield College, Oxford)



5.15pm: Closing Comments

Chair: Diane Coyle (University of Manchester)

Willem Buiter (Citibank)

5.45pm: Close

Organisers:

Richard Barwell (MMF), Wendy Carlin (UCL), Jagjit S Chadha (University of Kent, and MMF), Wouter Den Haan (LSE and CFM), Mike Dicks (WAM), John Driffill (Birkbeck College, CFM and MMF), Douglas Gale (Imperial) Paul Mortimer-Lee (BNP Paribas), Paul Mizen (University of Nottingham and MMF), Andrew Scott (LBS).

We gratefully acknowledge the support of the Royal Economics Society and the ESRC. The MMF is a not for profit group fostering research into macroeconomics and gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Bank of England.



